My top five songs

This topic is Shackman’s choice and I am posting it quite, quite late…………..but that is fine with my LBC blogging cool pals!

An all time favourite—this song was sung by the Nightingale of Classical Music of India—M S Subulakshmi. In my list, it is top!

Kurai ondrum illai

 

Lyrics : Dr. Rajaji

Singer : M S Subulakshmi

Kurai ondrum illai marai moorthy Kanna!!

No worries, dear lord of Wisdom!!

Kurai ondrum illai Kannaa!!

Kurai ondrum illai Govinda!!! (2)

I have no worries, no complaints, no needs dear Kanna, Oh lord of wisdom!

 

Kannukku theriyaamal nirkindraai Kannaa

You are standing somewhere where I cannot see you, Kanna!!!

Kannukku theriyaamal nindraalum enakku,

However, even if I cannot see you

Kurai ondrum illai, marai moorthy Kanna

I have no worries, no complaints, no needs dear Kanna, Oh lord of wisdom!

 

Vaendiyathai thanthida Venkatesan endrirukka
When there is Lord Venkatesa (Vishnu) who will grant me all that I want

Vaendiyathu vaerillai marai moorthy Kanna! Manivanna! Malaiyappa! Govindaa! Govindaa! (Names of Lord Vishnu)

There is nothing more I want to ask for, dear Kanna. (Rest are the different names of Lord Vishnu)

Thiraiyin pinn nirkindraai Kanna!! Kanaaaah…

Oh Lord! You stand behind the curtain!

Unnai marai odum gnaniyar mattumaey kaanbaar!

Where you are only visible to learned people

Endraalum kurai vondrum enakillai kanna!!! (2)

I have no worries, no complaints, no needs dear Kanna, Oh lord of wisdom!
Kundrin mael kallagi nirkindra Varada! (2)

You are standing like a statue on top of the hill, Varada (Boon giver)

Kurai ondrum illai marai moorthy, Kannaa!!!(2)

I have no worries, no complaints, no needs dear Kanna, Oh lord of wisdom!

Manivanna! Malaiyappa! Govindaa! Govindaa!!!!

(The other names of Lord Krishna)
Kalinaalu kirangi kallilaey irangi nilayaaga kovilil nirkindrai Kesava!!! (2)

For the people of this ‘Kaliyug’ you have become a statue and sit motionless in the temple!

Kurai ondrum illai marai moorthy Kannaaa!!

I have no worries, no complaints, no needs dear Kanna, Oh lord of wisdom!

Athai yaarum marukkaatha Malaiyappaa!!!

No one can deny this dear lord,

Un maarbil aethum thara nirkum karunai Kadalannai!

When there is always the generous Goddess (Lakshmi) seated on your heart

Endrum irunthida aethu kurai enakku (2)

You are ever, So I have no worres, my Lord!

Ondrum kurai illai marai moorthy kanna (2)

I have no worries, no complaints, no needs dear Kanna, Oh lord of wisdom!

Manivanna! Malaiyappa! Govindaa! Govindaa! Govindaa! Govindaa! Govindaa! Govindaaaa!

 

Names for Lord Krishna

Manivanna    -   Dark in colour (like the rain clouds)

Malaiyappa   -   Resident of Hills

Govinda       -   Friend of cows

 

The other songs that I choose are from English—my repertoire is limited but I still love some songs.

 

2. All songs from Sound of Music

 

3. Strangers in the night—Frank Sinatra

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlSbSKNk9f0

 

4. People by Barbara Streisand

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPlQ6EtArSc

 

5. Those were the days my friend—Mary Hopkins

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2KODZtjOIPg

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, DeliriousGaelikaa,  GrannymarMagpie11Paul, Maria the Silver Fox, Rummuser , Will Knott, Shackman and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get  different flavours of the same topic.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My top five songs

  1. Better late than never. The MS song is a googly. Since when has that been your favourite?

  2. Maxi says:

    Oh Lord! You stand behind the curtain! I like that.
    blessings ~ maxi

  3. blackwatertown says:

    Your number one reminds me of Cheb Khaled (now grown into just Khaled) – the Rai king of Algeria.

Leave a Reply

