COFFEE AND TEA

I am a tea drinker. Unusually for a South Indian, I do not drink coffee. Yet I can make a good cup of yard coffee–with the decoction made in a stainless filter and some freshly boiled milk. A foam is created by pouring the coffee from a narrow tumbler into a wide mouthed vessel and both fit into your palms easily…this is called the dabbara and tumbler.

Both tea and coffee are grown in the South of India on the slopes of the hills. Coffee has been absorbed into the diet of the Tamil Brahmin community. In fact this is considered to be the land of filter coffee. Coffee drinking here is an important social custom, and the brewing process is taken very seriously.  The local coffee is called Madras/Chennai Filter Coffee, and is unique to the region.

Gourmet Arabica or Peaberry coffee beans are roasted and ground up, chicory is added to enhance the flavour. The powder is placed in the upper vessel of a special filter with two compartments. Hot water is poured and the decoction flows through tiny holes into the lower vessel.

This strong and fragrant is added in tiny dollops to a tumbler with three quarters full of hot, scalding milk and some sugar. It is then foamed up by transferring it from the tumbler to a wide mouth, small vessel called the dabbara pulling it into a yard long length of fluid dexterously transferred from one dish to another.

Tea drinking is also a custom that has been adapted into our diet. Tea is brewed in water and lots of milk and then strained. Cardamom and ginger are added at times for flavour. My favourite however is Earl Grey!

Buttermilk or liquefied yoghurt with salt and a dash of asafoetida and curry leaves is a great thirst quencher. We also have a molasses based drink with dried ginger powder and cardamom that is served in the hot months of summer as a thirst quencher.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Food and Beverages and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to COFFEE AND TEA

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Like

  2. rummuser says:

    I hope that you will use this more as it would offer you a lot of features that the other platforms do not. Very nice indeed.

    Do you intend using this for the LBC?

    Like

  3. Interesting post. I like the rituals around coffee and tea drinking.

    Like

  4. I dont’ drink coffee of tea but I always think the ritual of drinking either is so appealing. Coffee and tea drinkers seem to enjoy it soooo much.
    Happy SIMC, jj

    Like

  5. Unknown Mami says:

    That foamed milk looks absolutely tantalizing to me. I am a coffee drinker, although lately I only drink decaf. I do so like the ritual of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

