RISK– THE SPICE OF LIFE

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, Delirious, gaelikaa, Grannymar, Ramana and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get different views of the prism, colours of the same topic. Today’s topic has been chosen by Grannymar.

RISK—THE SPICE OF LIFE 

“Do one thing every day that scares you.”

~ Eleanor Roosevelt 

I think dear old Eleanor knew what she was talking about…the only point that I differ on is that we do so many things in a day that involve taking risks. 

Take waking up in the morning..I risk that every day. Just imagine the number of pitfalls that lie in wait for me…the water may not flow in the tap to brush my teeth, have a bath, wash dishes. The newspapers—believe you me we get 5 (FIVE) everyday—may not arrive. The milk may not be delivered and if it does arrive it may boil over making a mess of my gas stove and counter top (the gas may also finish needing a change of cylinder). My cook may not come, my maid may have an emergency and fail to show up….the list goes on and on….until it is bed time and the mosquitoes will come out in hordes. 

The other great risk that I take on an average everyday is to step out on to the road as the risk of my tripping and falling flat on my face is really great. Getting into an auto, as my recent experience has wizened me up—may mean getting into an accident. The car may have a puncture—we did and drove on it and ended up having to replace the whole wheel! Catching a bus could end up with you being pickpocketed! 

The one great thing that really scares me is switching on the news channels…just imagine the risk. There may be a national disaster lurking in the ‘Breaking News’ banner or an important piece of earth shattering news that Elvis was seen on MG Road (every metro, city, town in India has a token Mahathma Gandhi Road) or that Sachin Tendulkar, God of Indian cricket, has decided to put his cricket bat into retirement. 

The biggest risk is going on line and opening your heart to fellow bloggers and waiting for their comments.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to RISK– THE SPICE OF LIFE

  1. rummuser says:

    You are off and running way ahead of schedule. A risk worth taking rather than posting later than normal.

    Like

  2. Grannymar says:

    @Big Brother, leave the girl alone she is doing fine! I think you are jealous that she got there before you! 😆

    Like

    • padmum says:

      No way! He has been the model of patience and taken me through the intricate workings of WordPress–how to link up, how to assign a time etc. RR has never been jealous of anybody..that is why he is happy where he is. Next week I will assign time of post as 7.30 is not convenient for me. My daughter always called me YE Pattani–eager pea thta is ready to pop out!!

      Like

  3. Grannymar says:

    Great Post Padmini. I know the risk of getting out of bed. Mind you, unless I drag myself out of the bed, I have no cook, cleaner and have to go hungry! 😦

    Like

    • padmum says:

      I know Grannymar…it is actually a Catch-22 sit. If you have them you become dependent on them and threaten that you will do away with the service; if you don’t have them you long to have them! We are lucky in India and are able to have house help though for how long I really don’t know.

      Like

  4. Grannymar says:

    I am used to doing everything for myself and like my independence. Not always a good thing.

    Like

  5. Delirious says:

    I think you hit on the greatest risk for sure; opening your heart to blog readers. I have a religion blog, and it has been more of a risk than my regular one because I actually receive attacks from people who think my religion is wrong! It is amazing to me that people will actually tell me I am going to hell and such because of my beliefs. So it is an emotional risk to put it out there, but I am willing to do so to help dispel some of the misconceptions. 🙂

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Thanks!! I too have a blog where I talk about Hinduism and women…haven’t written in it for some time. I still haven’t received ‘Go to hell’ mail there. Of course I make sure that I tread on toes lightly. How can religion be wrong..it is but my view of creation and existence…..but people I think feel threatened that their beliefs are not strong enough to sit beside another person’s beliefs. Would love to chat with you about this further. My brother Ramana of course is the ‘pundit’. I am only a practicing believer immured a great deal in ritual and dogma. His is more esoteric!!

      Like

  6. gaelikaa says:

    I have to agree with you on all you’ve said because I live here too. You take your life in your hands getting up in the morning.

    Like

  7. Val Erde says:

    Yes to the latter – blogging – a risk everytime we post. Though, that said…. with the support of some great readers, it really needn’t be.

    These days, also, I take a risk when I go upstairs as my knees have started to whinge!

    Like

  8. game says:

    Thank you for another informative blog. Where else may I get that
    type of info written in such an ideal method? I’ve a challenge that I am simply now running on, and I’ve been at the glance out for such information.

    Like

Leave a Reply

