Stability–or the lack of it

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, Delirious, gaelikaa, Grannymar, Ramana and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get different views of the prism, colours of the same topic. Today’s topic has been chosen by Gaelikka.

I  never had stability—I mean the physical dimension as it were. In Tamizh we have a description, “Pull thadiki, payilvaan” which translates as “The strong/muscleman who trips over a blade of grass”. Well that describes me to a T. I look like a female wrestler all right, but my stability is extremely suspect.

As a kid I used to trip over, you got it right, on blades of grass, would split my chin and go off to a family doctor to get it sutured. I must have done this as at least five times and after the final episode, the doctor refused to stitch me up. I still have a scar that features even in my passport.

As a grown up too I have sprawled on roads, bathrooms, tripped over fan wires and over a carpet too. But…..no more stitches under the chin….elsewhere, don’t even ask…I am like a patchwork quilt!

We used to describe my mother’s gait as a ship in full sail crossing the room….affectionately, but with a bit of mockery thrown in. She had bow legs and was short, heavy and developed bad knees. Today her four off spring—three boys and yours truly, walk in an identical manner. We have the height but also have the bad knees and roll across the floor like ‘a ship in full sail’. In fact my second brother has her bow legs too and all of us have arguments with the weighing machine and mistrust its veracity.

They say once you ride a bicycle, you never forget that sense of balance. There was a time when i used to go to school on a bicycle. A few years ago blindly believing this promise of stability, I got on to a bicycle and……sprawled all over the gravel…no balance, no stability!!

However, I have led an incredibly stable life only having moved house, for myself (not keeping count of pre-marriage moves which are simply innumerable) about 20 times and another 8 to 9 times helping my kids do so in different cities and countries!!. The stability is in my rock solid marriage, my family and friend ties, in attitudes and beliefs that have grown only stronger over the years.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Stability–or the lack of it

  1. Grannymar says:

    I have a scar on my face through my left eyebrow, caused by tripping on a carpet when I was a small child! Moves? Nothing near the number of yours. My birth home until I married, apart from a couple of years in Germany. Then I moved to my marital home 34 years ago, who knows, the next move might be for planting under the daisies! I am not sure if anyone would consider me stable, but I am content in my skin.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Who knows Grannymar…you may move to India…look at your Karma so many India connections….and I am still in the process of thinking of moving…options are many….another blog about that sometime.

      Like

  2. gaelikaa says:

    It all depends on the context in which you use the term. As they say where I come from, Padmini, you have it where it counts! It’s sad, though, that you fell over a lot and hurt yourself.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Awwwww….the fall was defenitely not because of prid e! It was due to weakness caused by severe asthma and a childhood bout of polio. I count my blessings Maria and they are sooooooo many!

      Like

  3. As a former LBC member, I’m pleased to meet you, Padmum.

    A stable, loving marriage – how wonderful!

    It’s never too late to change the message re. the lack of stability and those blades of grass!

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Lovely to connect up with you Marianna–another Maria in my fold!! Yes!a trying to build up the stability with cardio and weights at the gym. however the ‘bad’ knees will not go away…trying my best not to go in for knee replacements….something that is being done by many of mt friends at the drop of a ‘knee’!

      Like

  4. rummuser says:

    That post brings back a lot of memories Padmum. Yes, you were a disaster, but a delightful one. For bravery and grit you get an A+ from someone who saw most of it.

    Like

  5. Marianna says:

    I’ve not had my knees done, but I do have new hips. What a difference they’ve made in my quality of life! When you’re in constant pain, it’s wearing.

    What is holding you back?

    Like

  6. Ashok says:

    The stable marriage, the stable kids make up for all the bicycle falls, eh? 😉

    Like

  7. Delirious says:

    I’m a little late in commenting..

    I think that after writing my post today on “sanity”, that you should be grateful that your instability is physical and not mental! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

