Sundays in my City–Goodbye Jayshree Venkatraman

Today, Sunday 17th April, has been a sad day for me. I wished my good friend Jayshree a final goodbye at a prayer meeting followed by a sumptuous lunch.

Jayshree’s life has been a battle. Every issue she had to struggle over. The younger daughter of a leading industrialist in my city, Chennai she was brilliant. She did her graduation from Stella Maris College as a rank holder. Next she was awarded the Distinguished Alumnus award by the IMI for her outstanding performance in business and society, the first receipient of this award in 25 years. She had also held positions as President of Madras Management Association and Chairperson of Women Managers Forum and Centre for Family Business of MMA.

All through she was dogged with health problems. She married late, conceived and had a son pretty late after being bed ridden for the length of the pregnancy. Through it all she took on and steered her family battery business AMCO to becoming a leader in the market. She was a great devotee of Satya Sai Baba…at the time of her death, he was fighting for his own life in the ICU…otherwise he would not have let her go…this is my belief.

She came into my life when I went to interview her. We had many commonalities in spite of our age differences–same school, family connections and so on. She had so much warmth and simplicity and I am able to say that I was blessed to have her as my friend. Today I came to know that she and I shared a birthday too. I wish I could have shared this news with her and she would have been delighted.

Goodbye Jayshree and God speed!

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Sundays in my City, Women. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sundays in my City–Goodbye Jayshree Venkatraman

  1. Natarajan Srivatsa says:

    Men and women may have to come and go but memories live on forever.

    Like

  2. Grannymar says:

    Your friend led a very full life and I am sure she touched the hearts of many people along the way. You were fortunate to have had her as a friend. My condolences at your loss. Savour the memories.

    Like

  3. Divya Nambiar says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

    Like

  4. gaelikaa says:

    May God grant her eternal life. My sincere condolences to you.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Gaelikka–that is life…we lose some people anfd others come in. The wonder is that we are blessed with a heart that can take so many people into it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

