nothing

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, Delirious, gaelikaa, Grannymar, Ramana and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get different views of the prism, colours of the same topic.

Today’s topic has been chosen by Grannymar.

]

nothing is the base

of many things that

builds up to nothing

nothing it was from which

the universe emerged

with a big bang

nothing says a mischievous kid

when asked by Mum

what are you doing

nothing is what a woman says

when she is deeply hurt

and has no words

nothing I want says a parent

asked by an itinerant child

nothing at all

nothing is the sum total

of everything, of want

needs, lies and loves

nothing bridges relationships

nothing separates people

nothing is finally nothing

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to nothing

  1. Grannymar says:

    ‘nothing is the sum total
    of everything, of want
    needs, lies and loves’

    Perfect!

    Like

  2. Rummuser says:

    In our system, nothing IS everything. Buddhists called it Shunyata and Vedantins called it Brahman.

    Puranamada, purnamidam, purnath purnam udachyate;
    Purnasya, purnamaadaaya, purnam eva vasishyatey.

    Like

  3. padmum says:

    Yes but I think that this sloka also describes the cycle of life–of genesis, birth, life and death. It talks of completeness, poornam
    Poorna kumbham is the representtaion of the entire universe, human body.
    Poornima–is the full moon.

    Actually brahman ‘is’!

    (This is not for RR–he is arealised Guru beyond me).

    Brahman is “not this or that”. The Brahman is not a god although the gods and all souls (Atman) of men are the Brahman. The Brahman is the godhead, the divine principle what can be called the truth or reality.

    The sages of Hinduism do not pray to the Brahman, they meditate on it. It is within every person, what we call eternal truth.

    Like

  4. Viji Raghavan says:

    Therefore Pads, nothing is the total of something. good poem.

    Like

  5. gaelikaa says:

    There’s another song from the same movie which has haunted me since I was born. I’m sure you know what it is!

    Like

  6. Val says:

    This is beautiful!

    Like

  7. padmum says:

    That’s why I call you “Maria makes me laugh”!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

