Appropriate label

In Chennai and Tamil Nadu, we have just been through state elections. The black ink mark is still there on my left forefinger. The results of the elections held on 13th April will be known only on May 13th…for various reasons. It has been a coalition government and elections are on in two other states–West Bengal and Kerala. In WB it has been voting in stages.

So the powers be felt that if the results were known immediately, it would influence the ruling coalition’s chances in these three states…the Congress party and its alliances do not have a good record with it being declared the most corrupt government in India.

There has been talk of introducing representational government in India with an elected President—strictly in educated circles though! So I thought this label was most appropriate!

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Appropriate label

  1. Grannymar says:

    I have just returned from casting my votes. I had three papers:
    1) a yes or no to AV
    2) Local Council Election
    3) Westminster Election

    We are not marked with ink but must bring identification – I used my drivers licence with an embedded photo on it. Some times I use my passport.

    Like

  2. Rummuser says:

    Wonderful label. I wish that we could insert labels like this in all our branded products regarding all our elected nehtas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

