CONFLICT

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, Delirious, gaelikaa, Grannymar, Ramana and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get different views of the prism, colours of the same topic.

Today’s topic has been chosen by Gaelikka.

You could call me a coward. You could colour me yellow. Yet I must confess that I hate conflict!

It rules our lives…at home, with kids, husband, MIL, family, on the road, with the daily grind of salespersons and service providers.

I have my pet peeves…especially one where the courier who brings mail demands my phone number. This I refuse to provide as that goes into data mining and I get all kinds of mail. Sometimes the mail is just routine invite to some exhibition or an offer of some thing at cost price—shipping and handling extra. That gets me and I enter into a slanging match with the aforesaid courier and if he still holds firm in wanting my phone number I do two things…give him back the mail and say take it back (which he hates) or scribble all kinds of inane numbers. So conflict resolved.

If you know Indian traffic the biggest menace on the roads, it is the two wheeler user. These guys/gals think that the road is theirs to weave around like they are on the old fashioned ‘death well’ that we used to see in fairs and circus. They are absolutely blind to anybody else’s place on the road and woe to the pedestrian if they do not watch out.

Conflict implies resolution. I just breathe deeply or leave the spot when there is conflict. The best place in the house to resolve conflict is to hide in the bathroom with a book!

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to CONFLICT

  1. Grannymar says:

    When I was a young girl, taking a book to the loo (the bathroom was separate) caused conflict as a queue quickly formed and the dancing and banging on the door began with chants of ‘Hurry up’!

    Like

    • padmum says:

      It still happens–no queues but phone calls HAVE to be passed on as people at home dont know the words..”Sorry she is busy. Please call later”!!

      Like

  2. Rummuser says:

    I give only our landline number for courier delivery proof. You might like to do the same.

    No, you are not yellow or scared or anything. You are just you. Nothing wrong in being like that.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      I dont want to give…Has anybody ever called you from the courier office to ask you if you have received the mail? The person who has sent the mail has it mostly. Blue Dart is especially difficult wanting ID’s etc.

      Like

  3. Magpie 11 says:

    I suspect that conflict is just one of the forces driving evolution. This might explain the behaviour of the two wheelers!

    Like

  4. Conrad says:

    When I was a kid, the outhouse was the loo! It wasn’t a very good place to escape conflict, especially at night, because I kept wondering if there were bears outside! That we had no bears in the area was irrelevant.

    And, that is how conflict itself is sometimes. Concern over the irrelevant. I’m still weeding my thoughts in this area, LOL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

