SYNCHRONICITY

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, Delirious, gaelikaa, Grannymar, Ramana and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get different views of the prism, colours of the same topic.

Today’s topic has been chosen by Delirious.

SYNCHRONICITY

Synchronicity is the relation that exists when connected or unconnected things occur at the same time. The first image that comes to my mind when you say synchronization is of beautiful girls dance-swimming in deep pools to beautiful music—real life swans that make it look effortless.

I am a Scorpio and have an uncanny ESP. I share my birthday with two people—my father and my friend Viji. Strangely enough  I do not have the ‘link’ with my father who is over thirty years older than me. With a year older Viji, I have this uncanny sense and inevitably we will get in touch minutes after thinking about each other. We also know when either of us is feeling unwell and talk to each other. We share a lot of thoughts about many subjects—she is very much into spirituality and at the age of 55 she did a doctoral thesis on mysticism in Hinduism!

This is another feeling that I share with my husband. I can sense that he is coming back from his outings at a particular moment. We inevitably have synchronized thoughts about politics (his passion), family, things that need to be done etc. Well we have lived together for 40 years—so you may say that this is natural.

Going back to dancing, in India classical dance has been more of an individual performance. The concept of staging synchronized dance ballets has been adopted from the West, I think. The person to stage such shows with many dancers was Rukmini Arundale of the Kalakshetra in Chennai. There are some stunning ballets now being performed based on the stories from our mythology and epics. The synchronised steps are beautifully choreographed and I particularly enjoy it when they do forest scenes and imitate the animals especially the deers, peacocks and doves.

Folk dances however have been group efforts. We have a famous style of dance in India called ‘Kolattam” and ‘Dandiya’ (dancing with the sticks) that require split second synchronization. Or else you can get beaten up black and blue.

Indian cinema has made popular Bollywood dancing that is the ultimate in synchronized footwork and hand gestures. The raucous and raunchy element has been introduced in recent years with glamorous outfits and uber decors.

I have been on stage for many years and know how important it is to be ‘synchronised’ with the rest of the cast. I am famous in the group for rambling away from the written dialogues and rarely used to deliver them in the order they were supposed to be spoken. However, I would rightly come back to the cue needed for the other character to break in with their dialogues. I have even delivered important punch dialogues (forgotten in the previous scene) in another situation altogether and stunning my co actors!! I am also famous for having jumped a whole page of dialogue leaving the prompter at his wits ends to give me the cue!! I am remembered as a good actor though!!

Finally we have our own LBC where we are ‘supposed’ to file in our blogs at a particular time and day. I for one have never synchronised with any other member and am late with this ‘episode’ due to other commitments.! But my thoughts and notions sure are in tune with many of the group members (when I can understand them, that is)!!

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SYNCHRONICITY

  1. Conrad says:

    I would LOVE to watch you on stage! Of course, just meeting you in person first might be a nice intermediate step.

    I think what you are talking about as far as that link with others is essential.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      You can see me in a movie—I have done 5!! But in Tamizh. I think the first one ‘Bombay’ has subtitles!! It was a blink-and-I-will disappear cameos!! Still I did movies with two of the leading Directors in Tamizh/Indian Cinema.

      Meeting would be great…come to India and we can all meet and talk on a Friday!!

      Like

  2. Grannymar says:

    Jack and I had an amazing ESP going right from the day we met. I would feel his presence in a room long before I saw him. He seemed able to read my mind, or know what I was going to do next. Naturally we had no secrets! 😆

    A live LBC meeting would be wonderful!

    Like

  3. Rummuser says:

    Inshallah, a live LBC meeting will take place. Al hamdulillah, it is already taking place albeit in the virtual world, which is increasingly making it possible to be in sync with others. Understanding me should be the most difficult I suppose!

    Like

  4. Ashok says:

    Another theatre person, brilliant! I loved acting myself. Nowadays focusing on a script of my own. There you go another instance of synchronicity 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

