Respect For Life

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, Delirious, gaelikaa, Grannymar, Ramana and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get different views of the prism, colours of the same topic.

Today’s topic has been chosen by Conrad.

In the womb

A life takes shape

Should I nurture

Should I abort

This being, nascent

Is it wanted

Is it worth all my effort

A woman asks another girl child

Is there respect of life?

 

In the home

A child grows up

Pampered, petted

And cherished

S/he demands as a right

Wants, needs, luxuries

I did not ask to be born

So you owe it to me parent!

And declares I don’t respect life!

 

In the marketplace

A wo/man takes

A spot under the sun

Part of the rat race

Stressed, strained,

Racing against imaginary bogies

My, mine, myself, searching

Desperately for we, us, ourselves

To create a mutual respect for life

 

In a family

Two people come together

To make a unit of existence

Loving, fighting, procreating

Nourishing other existences

Building a nest of comfort

Safety and well being

Living lives of respect 

 

Sunset approaches

Single or paired lives

Seeking to remember

The living present

While the past thrives

Alive in its rainbow colours

Finally understanding

It is all about respect for life and living

 

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Society. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Respect For Life

  1. gaelikaa says:

    Yes! Absolutely….

    Like

  2. Rummuser says:

    This is too complex an issue for it being all about respect for life and living. Whose life and whose respect? We are often forced by circumstances into situations where life becomes a drudge or meaningless. It is the instinct that keeps one alive but it is a life of despair.

    Like

  3. Grannymar says:

    Greetings from Dublin where I am enjoying a few days of TLC from my daughter.
    Padmini your poem brought The Seven Ages Of Man by William Shakespeare to mind. Not everyone is fortunate to have the choice of how their lives will pan out. Some never learn to have respect for themselves first, before they learn to respect others.

    Like

  4. You are right. “It is all about respect for life and living.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

