GUILTY PLEASURES

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, Delirious, gaelikaa, Grannymar, Ramana and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get different views of the prism, colours of the same topic.

Today’s topic has been chosen by Anu!!

The first thing that comes to the mind is
‘Food’—especially since I am overweight and am trying, and trying, and trying
to the number of ‘n’ to lose weight!

Chocolates, sweets and crunchy chips

Fried Bhajiyyas and pappad thrills

Momos and wontons wrapped up in spices

These are a few of guilty pleasure giving things!

Next on my list is reading a book when I should be doing something serious like writing a blog!, doing my assignments, putting away the reams of paper that floods my post or calling up someone whom I know is waiting for my voice to boom across.

Procrastination is another guilty pleasure…like there is this saying in Hindi—

Kal Kare So Aaj Kar, Aaj Kare So Ub

Pal Mein Pralaya Hoyegi, Bahuri Karoge Kub

[Do Tomorrow’s work today, today’s work now

if this moment is lost in a flood, how can the work be done]

In this verse, the famous poet Kabir explains the human tendency of laziness and procrastination. We all tend to postpone matters. We are indecisive and given the choice, we would prefer
others to be doing the work while we simply enjoy ourselves.

Many women are beset by this feeling of guilty pleasure…if they don’t have a long list of ‘to do’ then they feel ill used. They enjoy sitting around watching TV but are quick to justify their leisure to others with a lame excuse or two.

And finally my daughter and I enjoy a little g p when we go shopping and buy a geegaw or two when we know that my husband will think that we are fools and being taken for a ride by my family jeweller to whom we have been going to for decades.

Why do I feel guilty when I am supposed to be this liberated, free thinking, independent (+ + + adjectives) woman who knows what I am doing, where I am going etc. etc.?

Generations of social conditioning of course!!

 

 

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to GUILTY PLEASURES

  1. Rummuser says:

    A nice light hearted approach to a difficult subject, handled with typical ease by you. I did not know that you were capable of feeling guilt!

    Like

  2. Grannymar says:

    Too right. It is all in the conditioning.

    Like

  3. Conrad says:

    Padmini, if you are surrounded by foods along the lines of what my neighbors across the street – Fijian, but of Indian culture – create, then how could one hope to resist? I love the use of spices!

    Like

  4. Delirious says:

    After reading this post, I realize that I have more guilty pleasures than I admitted!

    Like

Leave a Reply

