LISTEN–to the Cuckoo

Listen…
to the Cuckoo

I live in the heart of the city ina 3rd  floor apartment with two sides open. Just next to my south facing bedroom windowis an old bungalow full of trees. It was run as a boutique coffee shop by my friend Kiran and was full of life and comings and goings. Then due to a family fight she lost control of the building and had to move out. The place has returned to its derelict status again!

The Jeypore Palace Bungalow

This building was euphemistically called Jeypore Palace (built by a small tin pot Raja from Andhra Pradesh) and was the scene of many a rambling with our dog Kaiser in our childhood. This was the area where we grew up and I have come back to it again. The trees are tall and inhabited by birds, squirrels and all kinds of creatures.

It is Saturday morning. As I write this blog, the area is relatively quiet and I can hear a squirrel squeaking away and an energetic cuckoo crying out as it is cloudy. In India we say

Indian Cuckoo

when the cuckoo calls it is a harbinger of rain….and it is raining every night…sporadic
showers.

I inevitably wake up between 3 and 4 AM for a ‘chucker’ around the house to get the circulation moving in my feet …I sometimes suffer from restless leg syndrome! I eat a cracker biscuit as the salt helps with the blood circulation. It is then that that my neighbour, an owl, hoots emphatically. Maybe he spies mice running around at that time.

I go back to bed and wake up…not to birdsong…(no comments about by 7+ waking up time please as I have earned the right to do so!) but the cacophony of school buses, impatient car drivers and two wheelers dropping off kids at school and the raucous sound of reversing vehicles that play film music! The area is surrounded by many schools and there are half an hour periods during the weekdays when this area becomes traffic snarled.

I also have few neighbours who run hotels—from 5 Star ones to eateries and lodges! They come in at all odd times…mostly after 12 midnight. The 5 star family across the road throws parties and have drunk brawls once in a way. That wakes me up too and their taxis pick them up at all odd hours to go to the airport.

Going back to the cuckoo ….a family of crows built a nest in a tree next door, laid and

Crows nest

hatched eggs, brought up the fledglings and have flown away. The nest lies empty and I am waiting for the cuckoo to move in to lay her eggs and bring up a family. Will she? She is still cooing away in another tree in the front of my house.

This is my version of the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Akanksha, Anu, Ashok, Conrad, Delirious, gaelikaa, Grannymar, Magpie11, Maria the Silver Fox, Rummuser , Will knot and I write the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get different views of the
prism, colours of the same topic.

Today’s topic has been chosen by Grannymar! I am listening to you Oh one-who-listens-with-patience!

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Environment, Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to LISTEN–to the Cuckoo

  1. Grannymar says:

    I can almost hear the sounds of your neighbourhood as I read your post. Our dawn chorus begins between three and four a.m. Many a time I have gone back to sleep after the free concert, and boy is it difficult to wake from that slumber.

    I blame that today, for accidentally deleting your comment to my post, instead of lifting it from my spam bucket. How you got there I have no idea.

    Like

  2. padmum says:

    The sounds at twilight are the same–the crows are raucous too…what joy!

    Like

  3. Rummuser says:

    I had to lift you from my spam bucket too. I think that you should get a virus check done on your computer.

    Like

  4. padmum says:

    Just did it yesterday–will repeat!

    Like

  5. Delirious says:

    What lovely sounds you hear Padmum. Except maybe the ones that keep waking you. 🙂 My neighbor next door has canaries in an aviary in her back yard. I can hear them singing, but it isn’t so loud that it wakes me up. But I do enjoy listening to them throughout the day!

    Like

  6. blackwatertown says:

    You arrive in my spam zone too – from where I rescue you. Don’t know why – the arrival part, not the rescuing part.
    It sounds like a right cacophony outside your window. It’s pretty quiet where I am, barring the occasional mewling fox.

    Like

  7. padmum says:

    Any advice about rescuing a damsel in distress who is being dumped in Spam….have viral protection alright….in multiple layers including a annual personal Flu shot!

    Like

  8. Val says:

    Your recent comment was intercepted by Akismet, too (my spam filter), I don’t know why. Some valid comments do end up there, I don’t think it’s got anything to do with viruses. Probably something to do with WordPress changes, they can’t seem to leave stuff alone these days.

    I love reading about the cuckoo in this post (and seeing the pic, that’s a mighty big caterpillar in its beak!) but sorry it’s a harbinger of rain there! I don’t suppose the bird really knows that. It probably hopes it’s a harbinger of caterpillars!

    Like

  9. Rahul Singh says:

    Ma’am Jeypore(orrisa-andhra border) was not a “small tin pot Raja from Andhra Pradesh” . Jeypore was a 29000 sq.km royalty and was one of the biggest in terms of area and wealth in India.Their territory stretched from southern orissa till Vizag in Andhra Pradesh. They were the founders of Andhra University, creator of modern day Orissa and Dr. Sarvapelli Radha Krishnan was their protege, who ws made the Chancellor of Andhra University and later on as President of India. You should do some research before making comments on royalties and families who have made a difference to our country.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Rahul Singh…my apologies. I do know members of the family. I just assumed that un today’s Democratic India a kingdom and its erstwhile RULERS would have assimilated into the main stream citizenry as an ordinary person, albeit wealthy and so a VIP. What each of us achieves as individuals is more important in my reckoning than what my ancestors did or did not do. That is why we object to the pretend Gandhi family!

      Like

Leave a Reply

