On Friendship

Alphabets words
Learnt together at school
By rote, reading, speaking
Are but sounds which try to
Convey concern, feelings, love

Emotions that sustain relationships
Behind me always
Just a call away you
Are always there with empathy
Friendship, feeds on thoughts

Gestures, shared emotions
And not merely on gifts and things
Sometimes, insults too
Are exchanged in heat
On diverse viewpoints

Sarcastic, envious, hurting words
They are but a brief cloudburst
Asking, hoping for understanding
A touch, , a hug, email
An expression of regret

Just a note to say Hey!
Miss you, haven’t touched base
Lets meet, call, chat on Skype
Making a mate feel
Someone out there cares for me

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Society. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Friendship

  1. Grannymar says:

    Now that reminds me…. I need to make a call. 😀

    Like

  2. gaelikaa says:

    That was a nice poem. Made me think. I’m trying to get back to my blogging routine again, I let it go by the wayside for a while. Thank you for missing me. I missed you too!

    Like

  3. A.Hari says:

    Nice one which reminds us about the value of our friends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

