Let it go!!

By T. D. Jakes

There are people who can walk away from you.

And hear me when I tell you this! When people can walk away from you: let them walk. I don’t want you to try to talk another person into staying with you, loving you, calling you, caring about you, coming to see you, staying attached to you. I mean hang up the phone.

When people can walk away from you let them walk. Your destiny is never tied to anybody that left.

The bible said that, they came out from us that it might be made manifest that they were not for us. For had they been of us, no doubt they would have continued with us. [1 John 2:19]

People leave you because they are not joined to you. And if they are not joined to you, you can’t make them stay.

Let them go.

And it doesn’t mean that they are a bad person it just means that their part in the story is over. And you’ve got to know when people’s part in your story is over so that you don’t keep trying to raise the dead.. You’ve got to know when it’s dead.

You’ve got to know when it’s over. Let me tell you something.. I’ve got the gift of good-bye. It’s the tenth spiritual gift, I believe in good-bye.. It’s not that I’m hateful, it’s that I’m faithful, and I know whatever God means for me to have He’ll give it to me. And if it takes too much sweat I don’t need it. Stop begging people to stay.

Let them go!!

If you are holding on to something that doesn’t belong to you and was never intended for your life, then you need to……

LET IT GO!!!

If you are holding on to past hurts and pains …….

LET IT GO!!!

If someone can’t treat you right, love you back, and see your worth……

LET IT GO!!!

If someone has angered you.

LET IT GO!!!

If you are holding on to some thoughts of evil and revenge…..

LET IT GO!!!

If you are involved in a wrong relationship or addiction… ..

LET IT GO!!!

If you are holding on to a job that no longer meets your needs or talents

LET IT GO!!!

If you have a bad attitude…. …

LET IT GO!!!

If you keep judging others to make yourself feel better……

LET IT GO!!!

If you’re stuck in the past and God is trying to take you to a new level in Him………

LET IT GO!!!

If you are struggling with the healing of a broken relationship. ….

LET IT GO!!!

If you keep trying to help someone who won’t even try to help themselves.. ….

LET IT GO!!!

If you’re feeling depressed and stressed ………..

LET IT GO!!!

If there is a particular situation that you are so used to handling yourself and God is saying ‘take your hands off of it,’ then you need to……

LET IT GO!!!

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Wellness and health. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Let it go!!

  1. conhake says:

    Perfect wisdom of the most important kind in this post! Fantastic.

    Like

  2. Delirious says:

    Well said. We cannot control other’s lives, we can only live our own.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Even that Delirious depends on so many variables doesn’t it.

      I love this “I’ve got the gift of good-bye. It’s the tenth spiritual gift, I believe in good-bye.. It’s not that I’m hateful, it’s that I’m faithful, and I know whatever God means for me to have He’ll give it to me. And if it takes too much sweat I don’t need it”.

      Like

  3. Grannymar says:

    Not always easy to follow, but I do believe in the good-bye and letting go.

    Like

  4. blackwatertown says:

    Yes – to some extent – but some things/people/relationships are worth fighting to hold on to – for their benefit as much as yours.
    As the great philosopher Cheryl Cole Tweedy once said: “We’ve got to fight, fight, fight, fight, fight for this love.”
    But if that doesn’t work, letting go could well be in order.

    Like

  5. Rummuser says:

    And that my dearest little sister, reminds me of this magnificent piece of music and lyrics.

    Like

  6. Rohit says:

    Couldn’t have come at a better time for me, this post. I tend to think that even I have the gift of good-bye, or at least did until recently. The only way to realise truth however is in accepting it as it is. Wonderful post and on top of my to do list….learning to truly let go, not simply on false pretence to freshen up the air. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Like

    • padmum says:

      You are a wise old man in a young body!! I think I shall call you Markandeya!!

      Like

      • Rohit says:

        You are only too kind. Wise or not, young or old…it IS a body nonetheless. Source of all weaknesses, faulty to the core, can’t even stand strong winds or heat. Reading this post of yours made me realise the true meaning of “ignorance is bliss”. It may well be true that known devil is better than an unknown angle, but once you KNOW that devil…it gets worse!

        I like the new name, though its like putting a crown on a fool’s head =P

        Like

      • padmum says:

        Markandeya! There is so much history behind that nmae and none of it is an action or reflection of foolishness. i shall relate some lovely stories in time so people know why I call you that.

        Like

      • Rohit says:

        Oh I would never call Markandeya foolish…that adjective was meant to describe myself. I have read a few stories about the sage but am already excited to read the ones you would post 🙂

        Like

  7. viji Raghavan says:

    Hey Paads,
    it is a lovely poem and fully charged with great and practical philosophy. I loved ot

    viji

    Like

  8. Anil Heble says:

    The writings of once a well known UN Secretary General, Dag Hammarskjöld, were compiled by his life long friend in a book called “Markings” after his death in 1961. Dag Hammarskjöld was a loner and a bachelor when he died. It is a nice book to read and has lot to say on learning to “Let Go” to make life easier to live by.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Anil: Our philosophy is based totally on this concept–detachment in attachment and attachment with detachment!! Thanks for the book reference–will search for it.

      Like

  9. Shiva says:

    This is my first visit to this blog and your articles totally impressed me. I’m going to be prepared to take the challenge on at least few things that I can easily let it go. Thank you for your support and education on moral/philosophical values.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Thanks! The learned philosopher is my brother rummuser (Ramana)! I am an armchair critic/internet gleaner. Letting go is easier said than done! Do keep me posted about what you let go!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

