Things I don’t tell about

Confessions are very painful.

What seemed to be grave injustice when we are younger and lacking in self-confidence, or feeling insecure seems now in hindsight to be just over-reactions. I have some pet peeves that I have never aired…here goes:

When family members were busy talking to each other and I walked in and they stopped the conversation abruptly, I used to imagine that they were talking about me. Now I think maybe they were talking about some other internal problem that they did not want to confess to me!

I know when I have over-exerted myself and the chances are that I am going to have a sore throat. I don’t ‘talk’ about it as I know that I will get a HUGE shelling from husband and kids (out of concern really). Today even my granddaughter has learned to say, ‘Enough talking’—of course not when I am reading her a book. I quietly sneak in antibiotics hoping to nip the infection in the bud—it rarely happens and does develop into a full blown laryngitis or bronchitis.

When I am reading a book and it is at a crucial climax and I want to read it without interruption I lock myself in the—-toilet. Alas there too the shrieking mobile is brought in by my ‘helpful’ husband.

Very often I wait till the last minute to work on my assignments…I blame it on the Muse that seems to work only at a gun point…sigh!! My husband had a poster in his office presented by his colleagues…“If it weren’t for the last minute, a lot of things wouldn’t get done.”

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Akanksha, Anu, Ashok, Conrad, DeliriousGaelikaa,  GrannymarMagpie11,  Nema, Noor, Ordinary Joe, Paul, Maria the Silver Fox, Rummuser , Will Knott, and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get seventeen different flavours of the same topic. This week’s  topic has been chosen by Anu and Gaelikka.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things I don’t tell about

  1. Delirious says:

    Very brave admissions! You are far more brave than me! 🙂

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Delirious–I am at an age when I couldn’t care less what people think about me. This is who I am–take it or leave it. This gives me great courage!!

      I still have my private spaces that I do not air:)

      Like

  2. Rummuser says:

    That first confession is such a common trait that we take it for granted and do not bother to think about it anymore. You are so right that they are probably talking about something totally unconnected to us but our egos will not immediately accept that.

    Like

  3. padmum says:

    As I said hindsight. I think now I would ask straight out, “What are you talking about. Is it about me or something that dose not concern me?”

    Like

  4. Grannymar says:

    No matter how open we are, I think we all have some private space.

    Like

Leave a Reply

