Fishes of the sea….

Magpie and the fishes of the sea….Well! A bird had to talk about fish……sadly I am a vegetarian and even in the days that I used to eat non-vegetarian food, many many decades ago, I never liked fish. I am going to focus on the visual impact of fish on my mind!

However I love watching fish. I vaguely remember having a fish tank at home and a few angel fish, black mollies and guppies floating around. We had a public aquarium near the beach in both Madras (Chennai today) and Bombay (Mumbai–Taraporevala Aquarium) where I had my first experience with fish in a large scale. It was a cold, damp experience alright but did make an impact on a young mind.

Next was fish in Mauritius—seen through a glass bottom boat. In fact in this island I was introduced to Cousteau and his wonderful films about the sea, underwater adventures. Mauritius is also the home of Blue Marlin fishing and we did see these monstrous fish strung up in photos, TV or mounted for sale in shops.

The next time that I really enjoyed watching fish was in the US. First it was in the beautiful Japanese Tea gardens in San Francisco—huge golden carp in exquisitely landscaped garden that were truly a Zen experience. Next again in Palo Alto, in the home of Deepak and Radha Basu where they have an aquarium wall What a glorious experience with live coral in it. Sadly, I heard that they had to completely redo their aquarium due to some fungal infection.

In the US we also drove upto Monterey Bay Aquarium…where we spent a super day watching sea horses and translucent fish, kelp forests and shoals of different fish and watched divers in the tanks feeding the inmates…..that was a WOW factor.

The most recent experience was at Sentosa island in Singapore..the aquarium was surreal as we walked through glass tunnels that placed us right amidst the fish including sharks and barracudas…this aquarium was closed down and is all set to reopen this year.

Hope you enjoyed my fish trail!

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Akanksha, Anu, Ashok, Conrad, DeliriousGaelikaa,  GrannymarMagpie11,  Nema, Noor, Ordinary Joe, Paul, Maria the Silver Fox, Rummuser , Will Knott, and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get seventeen different flavours of the same topic.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Environment, Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Wellness and health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Fishes of the sea….

  1. Grannymar says:

    I really did enjoy you fish trail around the globe.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Yes…I do love watching fish…even on TV. The glass bottom boat was a fantastic experience especially for a landlubber like me.

      Like

      • Grannymar says:

        I did once take a trip in a glass bottom boat in the Med, I think the fish were on holiday that day. 😦 A friend of mine, years ago replaced their open fire with an aquarium. The room was very relaxing, but all eyes were on the fish a little like when a TV is left running.

        Like

  2. Rummuser says:

    That acquarium in 3/54 Peters Road, was something indeed. Subsequently, Sampy and Vijay had a smaller one at Anna Nagar in Chennai when Niela was a little girl just beginning to talk and Vijay used to take her to watch onnu meen innonnu meen. I had considered keeping an acquarium again here in Pune but the idea of maintaining it put me off.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      My neighbour has one now and I feed the fish when they are away. Now you can have a guy from the aquarium to regularly visit and take care of your fish tank…you don’t need to do anything other than feed them once a day.

      Like

  3. Delirious says:

    I do love to watch fish. They are so beautiful! I loved going to the MOnterrey Bay Aquarium….so magnificent!

    Like

    • padmum says:

      I always feel that fish are like models strutting around in their glorious colours and finery…with a supercilious swishing of their tails as if saying, “Get on with you. Stop gaping!”

      Like

  4. My last close encounter (not involving cutlery) was stroking a ray at the Discovery Centre on Strangford Lough (County Down, N Ireland).

    Like

  5. Fish can be a visual delight. They also have a calming effect on the spirit. Watching them in an aquarium does, I mean.

    Like

  6. padmum says:

    Yes…I think that is why they have fish tanks in Doctor’s/Dentist clinics.

    Like

  7. cedar51 says:

    http://kellytarltons.co.nz/

    the first aquarium of the type you mention I believe was invented by Kelly Tarlton who took some underground ‘sewer’ tanks and converted them into our amazing place. We now also have the penguins on ice here as well…

    Above ground is just the world of a road and wide footpaths – below another world awaits. I haven’t been there for some years but I should probably make the trek again real soon…

    Like

  8. padmum says:

    Just came across this quote: EVERYBODY IS A GENIUS
    But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid. [Albert Einstein]

    Like

  9. I loved trailing along with you on this marvelous fish trail. Since I live in California, it made me want to revisit many of the places you mentioned.

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Now that is some compliment…do send me photos when you do…will add them here. I really love that Japanese Tea Garden. One unfulfilled dream to visit Kew Gardens.

      Like

Leave a Reply

