GETTING LOST

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Akanksha, Anu, Ashok, Conrad, DeliriousGaelikaa,  GrannymarMagpie11,  Nema, Noor, Ordinary Joe, Paul, Maria the Silver Fox, Rummuser , Will Knott, and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get seventeen different flavours of the same topic.

Getting Lost

Sorry….I have been lost this past week. Between two demanding grandkids and two editors breathing over my shoulder with deadlines (that I did not meet unusually) it has been a mad fortnight.

I hardly ever get lost as I have a strong sense of direction—but Paul this does give me an idea for a story..but more about that later.

Strangely enough my son Jai too got lost like his cousin Ranjan did.

This is a photo of the cousins: Ranjan, Niela and Jai at the back and Rukki/Sowmya and Nitila in the front!!

We were in Mauritius and shopping in an area called Rose Hill. We had a nanny, a slip of a girl really who was sitting in the car with my baby daughter and Jai, my 3+ year old son. We had just gone into a nearby shop to do some urgent shopping for…yes to buy a birthday present for a kid from Jai’s playschool who was throwing a party. In ten minutes when we came back to the car, Jai was not in the front seat! With horror when we asked the nanny, she looked blank and said that Jai had got out of the car and followed us to the shop. We began to search for Jai up and down the pavement and the shops. Then one gentleman said that a little boy had been taken away by the police. Mauritius was a small place and my husband and his project were well known and in the news. So we were not frantic really.

Rose Hill Shopping Centre, Mauritius

We went to the nearby police station—after asking the way as we had had no need to know its location till now. There we saw Jai sitting happily, chatting away with the policeman and drinking a whole bottle of Coca Cola—something that he was not allowed to do at home. The policeman was happy to make the acquaintance of my husband, they had a nice long discussion about politics, India, economy, travel etc. and then we went home.

Today, we are totally obsessed when we take kids out and hold on to them for dear life as the times have changed and life has become dicey with kidnapping and other issues.

I do get (without the ‘ting’) lost in a good movie or a book. Otherwise life is humdrum in the slow track of retirement and senior citizen groove….no body to say ‘get lost’!

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Life skills, Wellness and health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to GETTING LOST

  1. Delirious says:

    My in laws took my son to a theme park and lost him. Can you imagine the scare they got?! But the park officials were very cooperative and did finally find him. I’m glad I wasn’t there, I would have been frantic!

    Like

  2. rummuser says:

    Hello

    Like

  3. rummuser says:

    I had left a message earlier that seems to have gone into your moderating facility. It would appear that the proclivity to get lost is genetic!

    Like

  4. Grannymar says:

    I have been lost for the past week (read gallivanting with my sister in Dublin). When I did have a few minutes to read blog posts, the ghost of WordPress refused to allow me to add my comments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

