The last three people I spoke to

The last three people I spoke to

  1. Before bedtime..my husband, Raju! He was on a trip down memory lane. We had been to a family wedding (on his side) in the morning. Quite distant relatives on his mother’s side actually. He then remembered a distant cousin who died leaving a big family. A son of this cousin was in school and Raju’s uncle, doctor helped him study further. The boy was also working in the evening in a Bank (we had no stringent rules about child labour in the fifties!) He had to travel great distances by train from a suburb of Chennai. One day Raju remembers, when he was down in Madras/Chennai from New Delhi on his summer vacations, going back with the boy in the night by train to their home and being received with great warmth and love. The boy did well at school and was employed by the bank and rose to a good position. Raju had not met any of these relatives in  along long time. His uncle brought home a couple from this branch and they have recently grown attached to us and invited us for their daughter’s wedding.
  2. I used to write a regular column for a woman’s magazine for the past seven years. In February it was chopped off due to revamping exercises. Many people in Chennai identify me with this column as ‘Last Word’ Padmini Natarajan. Many friends have been asking me why I stopped and Raju has been quipping that it is the ‘Lost Word’. Suddenly the editor called me yesterday morning and said she was desperate for a cover story. I gave her three names and she accepted it. So, I did two interviews yesterday. The second one was Chitra Ravi, my dear

    Chitra Ravi

    friend, sometimes boss and entrepreneur. It was nice going on a nostalgic trip into her life and her raison d’être for doing what she does at EZ Vidya, an organization that addresses every sector in the field of school education. One of the things that Chitra focuses on is education and training of teachers, to provide learning tools that are user-friendly to the facilitators and the students and to help Managements with end-to-end solutions in the running of educational institutions. The other interview in the afternoon was another friend, TV Producer, Usha Saravanan who has been producing a Women’s show for the past 12 years. She is from a big family whose name is synonymous with good cinema—family themes. She is fourth generation and the first woman in their traditional and orthodox family to enter production. Now she has come out in front of the camera as well.

  3.  My daughter Nitila calls us every day to talk about her day and ours. She reported that she had a nasty accident on Thursday night. Her family car was old and Thank God she did not have any injuries. The front of the car was badly impacted. Raju had been telling her to inquire about hiring a car as it is the season of the monsoon and you can’t depend always on taxis. Her husband’s route to work is different and sharing their car becomes difficult. So Nitu called to say that she had hired a car and to find out how the wedding was, what I wore and what we ate!

Apart from the wedding, the day was really a busy one for me. I had to attend a Fellowship morning at IWA, an organization that helps expatriates relate to India, its customs, traditions and lifestylke. This was the first meeting for the year (June to April) with a new committee and the colour for the year was ‘purple passion’….so the venue of the meeting was a sea of purple and the attendance was about 200—I must have said ‘Hi’ to at least 150 of them!!

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Akanksha, Anu, Ashok, Conrad, DeliriousGaelikaa,  GrannymarMagpie11,  Nema, Noor, Ordinary Joe, Paul, Maria the Silver Fox, Rummuser , Will Knott, and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get seventeen different flavours of the same topic.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Life skills, Society, Wellness and health, Women and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The last three people I spoke to

  1. Delirious says:

    Wow, now those are some exciting calls!

    Like

  2. Padmini – I think this is such a lovely account. A lovely idea. Quite apart from what you’re writing about which I find captivating, the prose just flows beautifully and the twisting in and out of your focus works on me. Then there’s the photo of your beautiful daughter! Colin

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Thank you Colin–from a Guru like you, that is just awesome. My daughter Nitila is a hot shot banker–she loves wearing saris! I wear it rarely…only for occasions. My boss Chitra, the first photo is an amazing lady as well. I will post the article I am writing on her next month after it is published. You will really like it..

      Like

  3. rummuser says:

    My sweetheart looks fabulous. Time she paid a visit.

    Like

  4. grannymar says:

    You lead such a busy and interesting life, thanks for sharing these snippits of your day.

    Like

  5. padmum says:

    Oops! As Niela, my niece reminds me on Facebook, she spoke to me last night asking me for help about a nanny for her friend who has just had twins. I am still trying to guess if it was a younger friend, or a late mother…..hmmmmmmm!

    Like

  6. Maxi says:

    Whew! You must be exhausted at the end of your day, Padmini. I can’t imagine saying “Hi” to 150 (purple) people.

    Your daughter is lovely, thank goodness she was not hurt in the accident.

    Blessings to you and your family – Maxi

    Like

  7. blackwatertown says:

    Sorry to hear about Nitila’s crunch. Glad it was minor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

