Three Friends in a Coracle

The lake rippled
Enticingly, invitingly
In the cool wind

Their stomachs were filled
With the sweetness
Of the Lord’s Prasad
From the temple afar

The round coracle
With its paddle oar
Stood inviting on the shore

The prospect
Of an adventure
Beckoned with a thrill

The three, a girl in plaits
Two lads in short pants
Set foot into the boat

With rounded eyes
Dreaming of depths
Filled with treasures
The three set sail

The wind gently twirled
The boat, paddled vigorously
Turned round and round

The eddy of the waters
The swish of the waves
Sussurred their hopes

Crocs or dragons or a Kalinga
They breathlessly wondered
Deep within the waters

They argued, they searched
They peered deep into the river
Casting nets of hope

There is a bite
Tug, tug the lines they cry
Fish out treasures from the deep

Remember equal shares
They promise each other
Eyes gleaming with riches

With a collective groan
They pull out the gifts
That the deep has yielded

A plastic bag dangles
At the end of the rod
The paddle keeps the boat steady
As one untangles the trove

Carefully, carefully
They caution as the bag
Splits wide open

Shells, cockles
Pebbles and sand dollars
Trickle out of the bag

Treasures beyond compare
For you, for me
Nah this one is back in the river

They share the spoils
As they paddle across
To reach the shore

Safe on the banks
The coracle shored
Innocents abroad
Make their way home

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Three Friends in a Coracle

  1. grannymar says:

    I could feel the excitement! Do I know the adventurers?

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Nope–figments of my imagination. This was a piece I wrote for a poetry contest based on a sketch of three people sailing in a coracle!! Long ago….rediscovered it when I was spring cleaning my Documents.

      Like

  2. rummuser says:

    Beautiful!

    Like

  3. Maxi says:

    Aah, pebbles and sand dollars … I’m there.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  4. blackwatertown says:

    Treasure indeed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

