Chocolate Chip Cookies


A very old man lay dying in his bed. In death’s doorway, he suddenly smelled the aroma of his favorite chocolate chip cookie wafting up the stairs.

He gathered his remaining strength and lifted himself from the bed. Leaning against the wall, he slowly made his way out of the bedroom, and with even greater effort forced himself down the stairs, gripping the railing with both hands. With labored breath, he leaned against the door frame, gazing into the kitchen.

Were it not for death’s agony, he would have thought himself already in heaven. There, spread out on newspapers on the kitchen table were literally hundreds of his favorite chocolate chip cookies.

Was it heaven? Or was it one final act of heroic love from his devoted wife, seeing
to it that he left this world a happy man?

Mustering one great final effort, he threw himself toward the table. The aged and withered hand, shaking, made its way to a cookie at the edge of the table, when he was suddenly smacked with a spatula by his wife.

“Stay out of those, They’re for the Funeral!!!”

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Holistic Cooking, Life skills, Women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Maxi says:

    Omg, here I was cheering the old man on in his courageous effort and then …out came the spatula. Mixed emotions. Blessings ~ Maxi

    Like

  2. Conrad Hake says:

    This is one of the funniest ones I’ve seen yet!

    Like

  3. Delirious says:

    LOL that’s pretty funny! That would definitely be a similar situation at my house, but it would be because my husband is diabetic. 😀

    Like

  4. Grannymar says:

    I lived every step, then wham! I love it!

    Like

  5. rummuser says:

    Brilliant! I could replay the scene with another old man till a different end!

    Like

  6. blackwatertown says:

    Very good.

    Like

  7. loustar02 says:

    Brilliant, very funny.

    Like

Leave a Reply

