Turn

My son Jai has moved into an apartment that is on a lake. The view is absolutely beautiful and the lake and its blueness greets you from every window.

From the window of the study, which I have more or less occupied exclusively, the window faces a temple with its two towers, a shanty hamlet and an ill-maintained piece of land with some bushes and which is also used to tie up buffaloes. Beyond this is a coconut grove that can be accessed by a path with rubbish strewn along it…not very conducive to walking on it!Coconut Grove

As children we visited villages close to Chennai or Madras as it was known. There were casuarinas forests and coconut and palm groves through which we would happily stroll through and buy and drink tender coconut water or palm fruit that was a mouthful of sweet, fleshy, juicy delight. We never worried about getting bitten by insects or frightened by prospects of other creatures.

Life has turned full circle and a coconut grove is available to experience and explore, something rare in an urban setting. Today, I see the coconut grove from my window and very rarely see any human being walking through it. I cannot imagine taking my granddaughters across the rubbished area to access the grove. I worry about insects biting them, about stray dogs barking and attacking them and all that rubbish causing infections.

I have turned into an urban person. I have turned into this modern day creature who is scared of so many (in)variables. I have pockets of information stored in my brain that sees terrorizing situations all around me.

Can I turn into that unsuspecting, ingenious person who saw nature and natural surroundings without looking at it with suspicion? Or am I too much of an urban creature who sees terrors lurking at every turn? Difficult to say…but to tell the truth, I have not stepped out to explore the coconut grove that peeks at me whenever I turn my chair near the window, or when I turn my crooked neck towards that landscape!

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, DeliriousGaelikaa,  GrannymarMagpie11Paul, Maria the Silver Fox, Rummuser , Will Knott, Shackman and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get  different flavours of the same topic.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Environment, Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Turn

  1. Grannymar says:

    It is wonderful to have a view through a window to look at and into the distance beyond, in order rest your eyes from the computer screen. Enjoy.

    Like

  2. Maxi says:

    Aah, a window for a moment of distraction … to ponder the old and the new.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  3. rummuser says:

    vechcha kudumi, saraicha mottai. Welcome to the blog world. I see that you have done it with a bang. Yes, those visits with Kaiser are unforgettable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

