TREASURES

I was a pebble
Tiny, on the beach
Picked and cradled
In the palm of a child
Stroked, caressed
Lovingly cherished
Brought out at times
Stored in a secret place

I was a feather
Light and fronded
Meandering in the wind
Blown here and there
Finally caught by tiny fingers
Delicately handled
Kept next to a pebble
Cached in a secret place

I was a crayon
Bright and waxy
Shading a glorious dawn
On a blank sheet of paper
Worn to a stubble
Secreted with a pebble
And a faded feather
Treasured in a secret place

I was a storybook
Exciting and interesting
Making words in a book
Come alive in a child’s mind
Dog-eared and threadbare
Along with a pebble, a faded feather
And a stubble of a crayon
Forgotten in a treasure chest

Treasure Chest

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, DeliriousGaelikaa,  GrannymarMagpie11Paul, Maria the Silver Fox, Rummuser , Will Knott, Shackman and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to open up many treasures.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TREASURES

  1. Grannymar says:

    What wonderful treasures you have for us today.

    Like

  2. rummuser says:

    Wow! But, I am a bit slow on the uptake. Where do kids come in in this?

    Like

  3. Delirious says:

    This reminds me of my own childhood. I think you treated the topic well, without specifically mentioning the word “kids” 🙂 I love to see the toys kids cherish. It tells me a lot about them.

    Like

  4. padmum says:

    Yes Delirious…but how many treasures are discarded when you move around. They just become memories. But it is good as one has to move on and not cling–to things, to relationships, to causes etc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

