What I did and do for a living

I breathe–that is a super achievement for me, Conrad!

I have been a homemaker all my life! I have also been a caregiver to various elders in the family. The rest that follows is my spiel that I dish out to people interested in knowing about me.

Writer and story teller, columnist and contributor of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers.

I am now working part-time with Hikeezee.com–a travel website and I am focussing on providing content about Indian temples, culture, art, heritage and history.

I have been working with EZ Vidya, a Company involved in various aspects of Education. I have been Content Writer and Language editor for the past 9 years. This too is part-time on a need basis.

Interested in Indian mythology, stories and culture, I have designed and taught Vedic Heritage to 3 to 5 year olds based on the Vedic Heritage program of Swami Dayananda Saraswathi. I have been chief MC, editor and writer of skits and documents for Kalavardini Trust that nourishes living, loving and leading the Hindu way of life. It provides an orientation to different generations of a family about the principles and practices of Indian Art, Culture and Heritage. This is not for remuneration, but surely for enriching my ‘living’!

I have specialized as a Culinary Editor. I have explored the lives and kitchens of the Tanjore and Palghat Brahmins and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks.

The cookbook called ‘Classic Tamil Brahmin Cuisine’—co-authored with Viji Varadarjan has won the Gourmand  Special Jury Award on July 1, 2009 in Paris.

My interest is to connect the social milieu and the stories of the community to the rituals, recipes and practices of women in traditional and modern homes. I am now writing a monthly column called Holistic Cooking in Tattvaloka magazine.

My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and teach children about India’s heritage, culture and traditions.

I am interested in Vedanta and spirituality.

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, DeliriousGaelikaa,  GrannymarMagpie11Paul, Maria the Silver Fox, Rummuser , Will Knott, Shackman and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get  different flavours of the same topic.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Life skills, Society and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What I did and do for a living

  1. Maxi says:

    Sounds like a full fascinating life Padmini. Vedic Heritage, now that sounds especially interesting to me.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • padmum says:

      Actually Maxi–Hinduism is not really a religion. It is the way we live our lives. The scriptures are the Vedas and everything else that followed is based on these magnificent literature that addresses all aspects of human life, society, governance etc. So now the pundits call it Vedic Heritage!

      Like

  2. Grannymar says:

    Wow! Padmini. do you get any time to sleep and eat? I am dizzy reading that long busy list.

    Like

  3. Whew. That’s exhausting just reading about the things you do, and you left out tilting at windmills (although it’s in your profile). Sounds like a full, happy existance to me..

    Like

  4. Lots of the things you do, Ido too. Like reviewing books and editing. In some ways, yu’re very like me. Or I’m like you.

    Like

  5. rummuser says:

    Way to go little one. I admire you.

    Like

  6. Delirious says:

    Wow, such a variety of talents!

    Like

Leave a Reply

