Do you need this diversion?

 

Every man knows that whenever he feels nervous, he starts smoking. Now, smoking cannot help in any way, but it diverts your mind from nervousness.

Only nervous people smoke.  And you can watch… some days you smoke more, some days you smoke less. The days you smoke more are the days when you are very tense, worried, very much in anguish. The world is too much. You are feeling so nervous that you want to divert your mind to something, something uncomplicated, something not involving anybody else — because that could bring more complications.

When you are not nervous — when you are feeling happy and blissful and joyous — you completely forget all about cigarettes.

Smokers spread their unhealthy habit to others who do not want to be associated with it in any way. It is unhealthy not only for smokers, but passive smoking can be deadly as well.

All smokers are addicted people, so addicted people are in the majority in the world.

And there are other substitutes. You may not be smoking and you may think, “I’m not an addict because I use chewing gum.” And it is worse than cigarettes — for when you are chewing gum you are engaged in an activity which is absolutely useless, non-creative and an act that is unnecessarily tiring your mouth and your teeth.

I hate people spitting gum on the pavements…it sticks to your footwear and is abhorrent as you have a tough time taking/washing it off.

Do you need this diversion?

Welcome to the Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium where Anu, Ashok, Conrad, DeliriousGaelikaa,  GrannymarMagpie11Paul, Maria the Silver Fox, Rummuser , Will Knott, Shackman and I write on the same topic. Please do visit the linked blogs to get  different flavours of the same topic.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Environment, Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Wellness and health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do you need this diversion?

  1. Delirious says:

    I have to disagree that chewing gum is worse than smoking cigarettes. Cigarettes don’t only cause harm to the person who smokes, but to everyone else that inhales the second hand smoke! I have an Aunt with serious lung problems that came about as a result of the smoking her husband did when he was alive. He died young,about 62, of lung cancer. I live in a country where it seems that every male smokes. I LOATHE it! I can’t get away from their smoke! How I wish I could hand them all a pack of gum!! 😀

    Like

  2. Grannymar says:

    To my mind smoking and chewing gum are both filthy habits.There is nothing like a walk outdoors to calm the mind and organise the thoughts.

    Like

  3. tammyjreed says:

    agreed grannymar !!!
    my parents smoked. my husband smoked. and my workplace was full of smokers. a cubicle with no door or ceiling is no protection. my father died at 45… heart attack. mother at 52… lung cancer. my husband at 43… throat cancer.
    i have literally ‘second hand’ smoked for 48 years. never touched one myself. and yet i have a stent in my lad. (lateral artery descending) … considered the widow maker. well already a widow with bad heart trouble.
    by the second hand smoke? who knows? but i would probably bet on it. at least as a factor.
    a great reminder post padmini! it might just help someone kick the terrible deversion habit!

    Like

  4. Grannymar says:

    Padmini, can you please update my link to my new blog. It is http://grannymar.wordpress.com/

    Like

  5. blackwatertown says:

    I’m working on your recipe for Friday – will have to exist in reality as well as online – because a bunch of people are coming round to eat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

