Comfort Zone

Always at the back of my mind was the fact that there was a bookstore near wherever I lived that I could pop into and get a few books. I am a serial reader…I have a few books in various stages of completion, some new books that need to be read, some that I have abandoned and maybe will go back to when I am older and wiser or a couple that I have totally outgrown.

bookshelf

A visit to a bookshop used to be a great idea of an outing…to browse, to smell the tonnes of books emanating inviting smells, streaking rainbow hues around the walls and aisles of shelves. I used to feel like a kid let loose in a candy store and this was my comfort zone. The comfort quotient was enhanced when sofas and stools were added by the managements to let me sit and read bits and pieces that would help me choose the book to buy. I would flip through magazines and quickly update the gossip about stars, styles and sundry trivia. Cookbooks would delight all the senses and I would take in the smorgasbord of dishes and culinary delights and a few tips as well.

After many months, I walked into a bookshop about a month ago and again yesterday…both in a mall. The comfort levels were gone, the desire to buy a book was gone, the longing to browse and select one or two printed material amongst a basketful of hopefuls was absent. The prices were high, the books dark and gloomy and the same old authors and titles all done with.

Now I have to look for a new comfort zone to visit, I have to choose a new destination for periodic outings! Bookshops are now a hodgepodge of merchandise, with very few books!

The seven other bloggers who write regularly are, in alphabetical order, Ashok, gaelikaa, Maxi, Rummuser, Shackman and The Old Fossil. We have a new blogger Lin at Dun-Na-Sead to the LBC.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Society and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Comfort Zone

  1. rummuser says:

    I can relate. Just two weeks ago after seeing a movie my partner in crime wanted to visit a bookshop in the same mall to purchase a DVD. He is not a great book reader. I found the experience totally miserable with ill trained staff, poor lighting and indifferent atmosphere. The same shop’s parent when first opened in Pune used to be my favourite haunt and I used to spend hours there browsing and eventually buying one or two books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

