Giver should be Thankful

It happened with Dozo, a Zen monk. A rich man came to Dozo with ten thousand gold coins. That was a very big amount. He was going to gift it to the temple where Dozo was the priest. Dozo accepted it as if it was nothing. The rich man became agitated. He said, “Do you know these are ten thousand gold coins?”

Dozo said, “You have said it so many times, I have heard it so many times. You have said it already too many times — do you think I am deaf?”

The man was just asking for thanks, only thanks, nothing more. Then he said, “Ten thousand golden coins is a big amount, even to me. I am a very rich man, but that amount is very big.”

Dozo said, “What do you want? What are you really asking? Are you asking for some gratitude? Are you asking that I should be thankful to you?”

The man said, “At least that much can be expected.”

So Dozo said, “Take your gold coins back. If you want to really give them to this temple, you will have to be thankful to me that I accepted.”

giving

On the temple it is written even now… it is written that the giver should be thankful; only then is it a sharing.

Somebody accepted your gift. This is such a great thing, because he could have rejected it. Somebody accepted you through your gift. He could have rejected this, there was no necessity to accept it. The giver should be thankful. Then it becomes a sharing, otherwise it is always a bargain. You are expecting something — something more valuable than you have given.

From Osho and my Facebook friend Anand Zen

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Life skills, Spirituality, Zen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giver should be Thankful

  1. rummuserr says:

    That is a remarkable story and I heard Osho tell this story in a tape during the days when I used to listen to him. Yes, we should be able to give with a sense of gratitude that 1. we are in a position to give, and 2. the receiver is in a position to receive. To expect gratitude is being silly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

