Blog or Bust!!

In the beginning there was the diary! I never got into the habit of writing one. My father, brother Ramana and husband Raju were recipients of glossy diaries at the beginning of the New Year from various organizations. In fact when my father retired, he would insist on getting a new and notebook sized diary from Ramana and Raju. Later on my son Jai or daughter Nitila kept him supplied with the brand new diary, even if they had to buy one. I have no idea what he wrote in it. My mother also demanded a diary and she wrote something or the other in it.

DIARY-HEADER

I was introduced to the concept of blogging when I sent articles to a website Sulekha. The little pieces that I wrote about simple events in my life and a one page column that I contributed to a women’s magazine took on the avatar of a blog. I signed up on to a blogsite and then was persuaded to migrate to wordpress that I find very convenient. I am able to reach a larger audience through social media sites.

All this is hunky-dory….but a blog has to be consistently posted and there I fall abysymally short…pssst…this topic was due last week and as Ramana pointed out gleefully, the topic Travails of Blogging was suggested by Yours Truly.

I must confess that I am not consistent. I had dropped out of LBC posts because…..because….well…..you see…..I think…..oh, you must have got it by now.

I get sidetracked with Crosswords and jigsaws and Freecell and Spider Solitaire and Facebook and Scrabble. This happens whenever I sit down at my laptop to write.

660601-mop-broomWhen the juices flow, the househelp floats into the  area broom or mop in hand expecting me to vacate the spot.

When the ideas jell, the bell rings with a courier or my vegetable seller at the door brandishing pieces of paper or bunches of spinach or radish.mooli

When a brilliant sentence with original syntax, emotional expression and telling adjectives form in the mind, my husband switches on the TV and the Parliamentary pandemonium drown out the Muse!!

There are so many more travails that I can list and fill one of those 365 days dedicated diaries…..but I am 7 days late! So it is now or never and so, here goes the post!!

The seven other bloggers who write regularly are Ashok, gaelikaa, Maxi, Rummuser, Shackman and The Old Fossil, Lin at Dun-Na-Sead.

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest is acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Friday Loose Bloggers Consortium, Life skills and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog or Bust!!

  1. rummuser says:

    Better late than never and it is already the next Friday after the next.

    Like

  2. Grannymar says:

    Big Brothers! Stop bullying your little sister into blogging on time when there others on your list who never appear! Right Padmini? We gals must stick together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

