‘Michhami Dukkadam’..Forgiveness

What is ‘Michhami Dukkadam’?

Michchhami means to be fruitless (forgiven) and Dukkadam (Dushkrut) means bad deeds.

 Michchhami Dukkadam is a Jain prayer for forgiveness. The words say “May the bad deeds done to you by me be fruitless.

When you hold a grudge against someone or a deed of which you are a victim, the anger that you hold in your heart will bind you to that person in a negative way. It will hinder your path to salvation for which detachment is an important requisite. For mukthi one needs to detach oneself totally from all emotions …love, hate…feelings and karmas.

So “Michchhami Dukkadam” is a cleansing ritual that says if I have done any harm to you, then please forgive me for those bad deeds, intentions and thoughts. May they be nullified, fruitless.

In Sanskrit it is “Mithya me duskrtam” … may all the evil that has been done be in vain”!

Prayashchit in Sanatana dharma is to seek forgiveness for the sins being committed, knowingly or unknowingly. The first time my brother returned to our adopted village from living in the UK for many years, the Prayaschit ritual was performed. Crossing the ocean was considered adharmic. Today there is not a family in my circle where people have travelled, lived and spent their whole life in foreign lands.

Even Rama did the Prayaschita after his return from Lanka. It is said that to atone for the sin of killing a great Siva bhaktha, Ravana, Rama did penance and installed the murthy of Lord Shiva in Rameshwaram. Another incident that is said to be a prayaschit is the Ashwameda yagam..the Horse sacrifice…performed by Rama. Most often it is said to be performed to establish the sovereignty of Rama as supreme King in the region.

Forgiveness is a concept that is prescribed by every faith. Turning the other cheek is part of Christian faith. The Dalai Lama’s reply to the question as to why he forgave the Chinese for taking Tibet and its temples and why he did not express any anger or resentment against them was, “They took everything but I don’t want them to take my mind. By forgiving I am keeping my mind clear and serene”.

In Zen the healing nature of the practice of forgiveness is an important tenet. Zen meditation is the foundation for genuine forgiveness not only in the meditation hall but also in the daily activities of mundane life routines. Zen practice helps heal. It has the redemptive power of the here and now where genuine forgiveness is accomplished. Forgiveness means taking responsibility for past actions and intentions for the future.

In the practice of Reiki, gratitude and forgiveness are two important aspects of the healing process. The life force of Reiki can flow unobstructed only when the mind and heart is cleansed of rancour, bitterness and revenge. These negative emotions can cloud your mind and block the natural process of healing.

I think that the Jain concept of devoting a day for forgiveness is such a beautiful gesture and practice that i would love to adopt!

About padmum

You could call me Dame Quixote! I tilt at windmills. I have an opinion on most matters. What I don't have, my husband Raju has in plenty. Writer and story teller, columnist and contributer of articles, blogs, poems, travelogues and essays to Chennai newspapers, national magazines and websites, I review and edit books for publishers and have specialized as a Culinary Editor and contributed content, edited and collaborated on Cookbooks. My other major interest used to be acting on Tamil and English stage, Indian cinema and TV. I am a wordsmith, a voracious reader, crossword buff and write about India's heritage, culture and traditions. I am interested in Vedanta nowadays. I am now an Armchair traveller/opinionator/busybody!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Michhami Dukkadam’..Forgiveness

  1. rummuser says:

    It is a great practice except that with the advent of social media, the number of such messages to be responded to has exploded and one spends hours responding.

    Like

Leave a comment